Lie down in peace

Finished Piece

Finished Piece

In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety. (Psalms 4:8 ESV)

After reading Psalm 4, I had the idea for this painting. This imagery of The Lord granting rest is found again and again….the famous psalm 23 says he makes me lie down in green pastures. Come to me and I will give you rest. I think this rest means not an easy life but more being able to cease from all our own efforts to get things done, to make things happen and trusting God to be God.

First I do a rough sketch. Then I look online for images that match my idea. I rarely find just what I need, but sometimes it can help clarify what I want to do. Next I need some images I can work with. This time I was the model and my husband took the pictures. I’m not looking to do a self portrait, but having a photograph helps me to get proportions more believable. The painting started with using oil pastel to draw the girls face, arms and hair. Then I used layers of tissue paper and some oil pastel for the dress. Then I used layers of tissue again to create a flowery field. I wanted a dreamlike quality, kinda fantastical where you could see the dust in the air and the light. So I added several hundred little circles of tissue paper that I cut out one night while watching a movie. Last I put a layer of clear wax to seal it all together.

(Scroll down to see pics of my process.)

Some inspiration comes from the artist Austrian artist Gustav Klimt (One of his more well recognized works is the kiss) He had these fanciful wonderful patterns combined with realistic faces.

1sketch2Wresearch2WP1090186wP1090187wP1090188

I cut out hundreds of leaves, grass and petals.

I cut out hundreds of leaves, grass and petals.

wP1090196wP1090198wP1090200wP1090201xgustav

About nagyworld

We serve with the JESUS Film Project a ministry of Cru. We love the Lord and have the privilege of using our gifting in art, design, and film making to provide tools to make Him known.

Leave a Reply

