Who knows where

Acrylic on canvas 12×12 inches

This picture was inspired by something I saw at church. Now, our church doesn’t have any stained-glass windows; it used to be a Lowe’s distribution center, next to the railroad tracks. But they used a slide of this scene for a series of teachings on the book of Matthew. I liked the scene, so I decided to modify it a bit and paint it. I think it’s probably the Sea of Galilee.

One of the things I love about painting over photography is that you can edit. You can leave things out. Or, if you want a happy little tree, put one in. You don’t have to wait for the perfect lighting, you can create it. So, usually the photographs I work from have less color and I often tweak the composition to my own liking.

If you’re wondering how I have time to paint, well, these past paintings are all pretty small (12×12 inches) and working with acrylic paints that dry fast forces me to work fast, and work until the paint on my palette is gone—cause you can’t put it back in the tube! Plus, as spring break for my kids was ending and I thought I felt more rested, but didn’t get to paint much, or get to a few other things, I took on a challenge—no TV or movies for a few weeks. So instead of zoning out in front of the TV, I’ve read and studied, painted, done some sewing, and a few nights even got to bed earlier. 

About nagyworld

We serve with the JESUS Film Project a ministry of Cru. We love the Lord and have the privilege of using our gifting in art, design, and film making to provide tools to make Him known.

Leave a Reply

