Unmet expectations 

Acrylic on canvas

12×12

About a year ago we found a deal and took off for a few days stay in the smokey mountains. I pictured spring blooming and great hikes, it rained and snowed. However, we rarely see snow and still got a few hikes in in winter gear, another novelty. I was a little disappointed that a few of the roads were still closed for another week. So we missed out going to Clingman’s dome a lookout at the top of the park offering 360 degree views of the mountains.

Fast forward a few months and we decided to since we needed to stay overnight on our way home from visiting family in the north we’d stay in the smokies again and go to Clingman’s dome. We parked and saw a lot of clouds were coming in, it would probably rain at some point sooner or later. We started hiking. The hike wasn’t too long but it was steep! Couldn’t they have made the road a little longer! We finally made it and climbed the lookout tour. The clouds were low and blocked a lot of our view. Foiled again. Sometimes our hopes and expectations are not met. At times I respond poorly, getting mad at things I can’t control. At times I accept it and try to make the best of it.

Hiking back down my husband was taking pictures, so I slowed down. And saw snails on leaves, pretty flowers, bees, and humming birds. They were so quick it was hard to spot them, but if you were still you could hear them. Took a few pictures along the way with my phone, this is one of the scenes. I didn’t see the grand vistas I had hoped for, but I still encountered beauty.

We can be so busy looking for a certain thing we might miss the splendor before us.

Easter is almost here and I’m reading in the book of John. Jesus did amazing things, he healed and rose the dead, he taught with authority, yet many were looking for a different kind of king or leader and they missed him. They cheered him as he entered the city but were easily swayed to shout crucify by the end of the week.

I don’t want to miss what God is doing in my life because my hopes are so set on my ways and plans. So I’m in process and remind myself it’s best if I hold expectations loosely.

 

About nagyworld

We serve with the JESUS Film Project a ministry of Cru. We love the Lord and have the privilege of using our gifting in art, design, and film making to provide tools to make Him known.

Leave a Reply

