Trees near sunset

Acrylic on canvas

16×20 


Confession time, I struggle to be fully present. 

A few months from now we will, God-willing, embark on a road trip that will take us across the country to the Grand Canyon, Zion National Park, Bryce National Park, and my favorite, Arches National Park. Hotels have been reserved for months, and I’ve been researching hiking boots. We found out that a place I’ve only seen in photos, that’s on my bucket list, is just a few miles from one of the places we will stay! My family is beyond excited to embark on our adventure. I’m dreaming of great hikes and amazing vistas, and being able to take tons of photos that I can use for future paintings. I’ve got a few giant canvases just waiting.

Meanwhile, we are in the last weeks of school, trying to finish well. Saturday is filled with cleaning, purging, preparing, another load of laundry and a dishwasher that needs to be emptied. Not so inspiring. My city’s nickname is “The City Beautiful,” and there is beauty to be found, but you need to open your eyes.

As much as I’m looking forward to our trip, it’s dangerous to live waiting until you have that one thing, or reach one destination. Living totally focused on what’s to come can rob you of the joy in the now.

One night, feeling a bit melancholy, I headed out for a bike ride near sunset. I took my phone and was hoping that with eyes open I could find some landscapes to paint. I came back and looked through my shots. Many were just ordinary, but a few had merit.

I liked these trees by the side of the road. The sun was hitting them nicely, and I liked how tall they were. I really liked how the painting turned out and that it’s just a few minutes from my back door.

Here is the photo.

About nagyworld

We serve with the JESUS Film Project a ministry of Cru. We love the Lord and have the privilege of using our gifting in art, design, and film making to provide tools to make Him known.

Leave a Reply

