Almost Home

16×20
Acrylic on canvas


This piece is titled Almost Home, because it’s just around the corner from our house. It would be what we see coming home from work. I took a picture just before sunset and loved how the low rays of the sun were turning everything orange and pink and purple, washing out imperfections and peeking through the tree branches. 

Home, in my thoughts, has a positive connotation. A place of family, of safety and familiarity, of calm, a place to regroup and recharge before heading out into the world for another day. A place where the people encourage and help you, support and dream with you. A place where you can laugh, and be understood. Where you can dream, and open your heart. 

That might not be your experience—your home might be full of tension and conflict, disappointment and messes. If that is the case, I’m sorry, and I hope you can find healthy places in life where you can recharge. Sometimes we have seasons where it’s harder, and we just have to hold on. And sometimes there are changes that can be made. I pray there would be be people in your life that would encourage you.

I’m not saying my home is a utopia. Conflict happens, stuff breaks, the laundry doesn’t do itself. But I want to fight to make my home those things mentioned above for my own sanity and my families.

About nagyworld

We serve with the JESUS Film Project a ministry of Cru. We love the Lord and have the privilege of using our gifting in art, design, and film making to provide tools to make Him known.

Leave a Reply

