East Central Blvd- Lake Eola (2)

Acrylic on canvas 

16×20

This painting shows one of the many old oak trees that surround Lake Eola. I was facing east looking down East Central Blvd which runs along the south side of Lake Eola Park in downtown Orlando. Love the canopy that the tree makes and the dappled shadows over the sidewalk.

This painting was hard. There is so much in the photo, and capturing the tree and shadows was challenging. Sometimes the best thing I can do while in the middle of a piece is to step away. Give myself a break, go do something else and come back with fresh eyes. What’s working, what still needs work? What will I tackle now? Compare it to the photograph. Sometimes I’ll take a picture of the painting and mark it up on the computer. At some point you have to say enough.

When my artistic daughter saw my finished piece she said she thinks it’s one of her favorites. For me it’s a reminder that I’m still learning. Hard things are still worth doing.

About nagyworld

We serve with the JESUS Film Project a ministry of Cru. We love the Lord and have the privilege of using our gifting in art, design, and film making to provide tools to make Him known.

Leave a Reply

