Ebenezer Pagoda Gazebo- Lake Eola (4)

Acrylic on canvas 

16×20

Ebenezer is the name of a place in ancient Israel, but also the name given to a rock by the prophet Samuel. The rock was to serve as a reminder of what God had done for the Israelites. It’s also used in the hymn by Robert Robinson, “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing.” 

Here I raise my Ebenezer;

Here by Thy great help I’ve come;

And I hope, by Thy good pleasure,

Safely to arrive at home

God had the Israelites name rocks, and created different festivals as memory devices. A reminder of what God had accomplished. Considering how often the Israelites seem to forget the power and faithfulness of God, and how I can do the same, it seems like a good idea.

Orlando is my adopted hometown. I didn’t grow up here. Just before moving here I spend a year in Asia. It was a year rich with experiencing new things and seeing God’s faithfulness in many challenges. So when I moved to Orlando, and saw the pagoda at Lake Eola, it served as a reminder to me of what God’s brought me through. An Ebenezer of sorts. The pagoda gazebo is located near the northeast corner of the park.

About nagyworld

We serve with the JESUS Film Project a ministry of Cru. We love the Lord and have the privilege of using our gifting in art, design, and film making to provide tools to make Him known.

Leave a Reply

